Home  •  Next Meeting  •  Contact Us  •  iCal  •  Check Email

MacGroup-Detroit    MacGroup iBBS    MacGroup iBBS  Hop To Forum Categories  Wireless    Who is using my airport express signal?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Who is using my airport express signal?
 Login/Register

Jedi Council Member
Picture of Rick
posted
I remember reading in Help that I could use Airport Utitity to see who was using and sharing my airport signal from airport Express- but now I cant find that info. Can anyone give me the info on how I might see who is using my airport signal? thanks

Posts: 621 | Location: Southfield | Registered: January 12, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Jedi Master
Picture of Paul
posted Hide Post
I have little experience with Airport, but if it is like most WAPs and Routers it should list what connections are active by both IP address and by MAC address. It may also have a log to tell you the history of log-ons.

========================
Ignorance breeds fear and fear breeds stupidity. Knowledge is the key to overcoming your fears

The only fish in a stream that just "go with the flow" are the dead ones

Posts: 1416 | Location: Clawson, MI USA | Registered: July 25, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Guru
Picture of Jack Beckman
posted Hide Post
Actually, you can't get that info via Airport Utility under Tiger. If you have Leopard and version 5.1, you might (not at a Leopard machine to check, but I know they re-wrote the program). You need the Airport Management Utility to find that information otherwise.

Of course, if you implement a good strong WPA password, no one else should be using your Airport Express.

===
Professor Hubert Farnsworth: “Nothing is impossible. Not if you can imagine it. That’s what being a scientist is all about.”
Cubert J. Farnsworth: “No, that’s what being a magical elf is all about.”

Posts: 5470 | Location: Sterling Heights, Mi | Registered: January 25, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
iBBS Addict