Home  •  Next Meeting  •  Contact Us  •  iCal  •  Check Email

MacGroup-Detroit    MacGroup iBBS    MacGroup iBBS  Hop To Forum Categories  Web Publishing    Web Education?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Web Education?
 Login/Register

Jedi Knight
posted
Im a freelancer for print for 6 years now and think i should venture into the web, As my print work is slowing. I made a website a while a go with Go live for my other business but have no experience. Whats the best way to get educated on it? should i buy the training cds, go back to school, take a class at a graphics place (if so any suggestions are welcomed). And will a employer look at cds as not real training? I have two little ones that will be in full time in school in the fall and I need a plan. Also do i just make up websites to start for potential employers to see???
Thanks Kelly

Posts: 358 | Location: Oxford, MI | Registered: July 25, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Jedi Council Member
posted Hide Post
I've been a freelance Graphic Designer & Illustrator since 1973, and made the transition from doing everything traditionally to going digital. Though I took a few computer classes early on, I'm basically self-taught. I'm only relating this, as it may give some validity to my comments and recommendations. I invite you to view my website, which also contains some additional background info and obviously examples of my work.

http://www.digiartcreations.com/mga/

• As you probably know, web design is extremely different than print - and in my opinion, more complicated. Depending on your comfort level, preferences and timeframe, you have many options to learn what you want to accomplish.