Home  •  Next Meeting  •  Contact Us  •  iCal  •  Check Email

MacGroup-Detroit    MacGroup iBBS    MacGroup iBBS  Hop To Forum Categories  Web Publishing    GoLive CS to Dreamweaver CS3 migration
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

GoLive CS to Dreamweaver CS3 migration
 Login/Register

Jedi Council Member
posted
I'm attempting to move some web sites from GoLive CS to Dreamweaver CS3, manually, and have some problems and questions. I know that there is a plug-in for GoLive CS2 to migrate the site(s) to Dreamweaver, but no plug-in exists to go from CS to CS3 - so, I've been doing them manually.

The problem arises that many items don't convert well by doing it manually. Links, rollovers, components, etc., don't carry over. Which means a lot of further work and time. It probably wouldn't be too bad, except that I'm a relative newbie with Dreamweaver CS3, and it's been a battle.

Does anyone know if there might be a plug-in or an easier way to bring the GoLive CS sites into Dreamweaver CS3, so that it retains all of the links, components, etc.

Note that, when I do it manually, the site functions fine. But, the code in GoLive and Dreamweaver are different. So, if I need to make changes, it's problematic. I suspect that the problem would be less daunting if I could convert it via a plug-in. Any ideas or tips?

Posts: 684 | Registered: February 15, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Jedi Council Member
posted Hide Post
Some info for anyone that may be attempting to migrate from GoLive to Dreamweaver CS3.

• I wasn't able to utilize the GL2DW Migration Plug-in that Adobe supplied, because it requires GoLive CS2 (and, I have CS). However, based on what I read it's problematic, especially for migrating Templates, Components, etc.
• So, I did it manually - still problematic
• Very little documentation, if any, by Adobe to make the transition easier.