Home  •  Next Meeting  •  Contact Us  •  iCal  •  Check Email

MacGroup-Detroit    MacGroup iBBS    MacGroup iBBS  Hop To Forum Categories  Open Discussions    Translation Services?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Translation Services?
 Login/Register

Jedi Knight
Picture of artphanto
Yahoo IM
posted
Hello, I was wondering who people are using for translation services? I am a designer that creates printed materials mostly in InDesign and I had a guy that I used for translations (English to Spanish) but he no longer does it. Is there a decent reputable company that I should look into (with no minimum fees)? Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Natalie

Posts: 461 | Location: Livonia | Registered: September 16, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Jedi Knight
posted Hide Post
I was doing an ad for Gable ventilation and my translation service translated that as "wind blowing through the subway". I had the issue of who proofs the translator?

Posts: 417 | Location: greater detroit area | Registered: November 28, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Jedi Knight
Picture of artphanto
Yahoo IM
posted Hide Post
haha that is a problem-finding a good translator.

Posts: 461 | Location: Livonia | Registered: September 16, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Poobah
Picture of Mary Jo Disler
posted Hide Post
Google translation provided this for"Gable ventilation." Ventilación de gable

HOWEVER, the translator should be fluent in language idioms. Online sites may not be trustworthy in that regard. I did a search and several services showed up in this area, but you'd need to vet for authentic background as well as price. Natalie - Did your former translator recommend someone?

"For what is age but youth's full bloom,
A riper, more transcendent youth" - Oliver Wendell Holmes

Posts: 2066 | Location: West Bloomfield MI USA | Registered: June 13, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Genius
Picture of Phyllis Evans
posted Hide Post