Home  •  Next Meeting  •  Contact Us  •  iCal  •  Check Email

MacGroup-Detroit    MacGroup iBBS    MacGroup iBBS  Hop To Forum Categories  DV SIG    Premiere CS4 won't import avchd files
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Premiere CS4 won't import avchd files
 Login/Register

Jedi Knight
Picture of Rhonda
posted
I am very new to this. I have a canon HF11. I wanted to try Premiere CS4 to work with the avchd files so I downloaded the trial version. I put the sdhc card in the reader and it showed up in Premiere. When I tried to import or just work with the files, I got the message that the file type was not supported. The files were in the Private folder and I believe they were .mts. I also tried to transfer the files to my desktop and transfer them from there, but I got the same results. I shot some video in easy mode and some in 24 cinematic. I may have incorrect settings within Premiere. What should the settings be before beginning the project?

Posts: 280 | Location: West Bloomfield, Mi. | Registered: July 26, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
iBBS Addict
posted Hide Post
The following is from the Adobe web site ..... Link to this information

About transferring files

It is possible to edit assets residing on file-based media, such as P2 cards, XDCAM cartridges, SxS cards, or DVDs. However, Adobe Premiere Pro performs faster if you first transfer the assets to a local hard disk. Using Windows File Explorer (Windows) or Finder (Mac OS), transfer files from file-based acquisition media. Then, import the files on the hard disk into Adobe Premiere Pro projects.