Home  •  Next Meeting  •  Contact Us  •  iCal  •  Check Email

MacGroup-Detroit    MacGroup iBBS    MacGroup iBBS  Hop To Forum Categories  Mini-Reviews & Recommendations    Why buy a new iMac (besides it being skinny)?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Why buy a new iMac (besides it being skinny)?
 Login/Register

Jedi Knight
Picture of artphanto
posted
I am planning on buying a new iMac, but am a bit confused.
What is the benefit, aside from it being thinner? I actually don't understand why it needs to be thinner, the fact that they got rid of the CD/DVD drive is beyond me-I use my DVD drive all the time, for creating movies, backing up things and putting them on CD etc. I know you can get an external superdrive, but it seems more of a hassle? I am a graphic designer, I love the latest in technology, but when the "technology" makes it harder for me to get my work done-is it worth it? Am I the only one that feels this way?

Natalie

Posts: 461 | Location: Livonia | Registered: September 16, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
iBBS Addict
Picture of James R. Cutler
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by artphanto:
<SNIP/>Am I the only one that feels this way?Natalie
No, not at all. My reaction to the ever-changing iMac is to use the same high quality separate display and an external full-size CD/DVD writer through several iterations of system unit, from tower to the latest Mac mini, keeping the same reliable external drive, screen, keyboard, and mouse. I could offer you several dead SuperDrives still in working systems (both laptop and mini) but replacing them is not cost effective for Apple or for me.

In your situation, I would get a full size external optical drive (maybe even supporting Blu-Ray) in a FireWire/USB 3 enclosure. Then it will not matter which computer or operating system you choose to use.

Posts: 1964 | Registered: January 02, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Past President
Picture of Terry White
posted Hide Post