Home  •  Next Meeting  •  Contact Us  •  iCal  •  Check Email

MacGroup-Detroit    MacGroup iBBS    MacGroup iBBS  Hop To Forum Categories  iWork    new to iwork
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

new to iwork
 Login/Register

Jedi Knight
posted
I'm new to iwork. My wife and I volunteer as friends of the commerce Township Library. In that capacity we have been given the groups mailing list(for contact purposes). It is in .xlr format. How can we open it to read and use it in iword? thanks, Paul

Posts: 152 | Location: Commerce Township | Registered: March 22, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Guru
Picture of Jack Beckman
posted Hide Post
That's a Microsoft Works format. You can't open it with iWork. You need a converter such as MacLink Plus.

===
Professor Hubert Farnsworth: “Nothing is impossible. Not if you can imagine it. That’s what being a scientist is all about.”
Cubert J. Farnsworth: “No, that’s what being a magical elf is all about.”

Posts: 5469 | Location: Sterling Heights, Mi | Registered: January 25, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Jedi Council Member
posted Hide Post
If you happen to have an old version of AppleWorks, you might try opening it with that. I happen to have an old version, AppleWorks 6, that actually still can launch within Leopard. I've managed to open various Microsoft Office files in the past with it (though occasionally, it may lose some formatting).

Posts: 684 | Registered: February 15, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Poobah
Picture of Mary Jo Disler
posted Hide Post
Here's a discussion of the same issue.

http://forums.macosxhints.com/archive/index.php/t-46319.html

The solutions that stand out are these (quoted below). Changing the file extension to .xls worked in this case (the Excel extension). Don't know if iWork opens Excel files, but worth a try.

I purchased MarinerCalc, which is a nice replacement for the spreadsheet element of Appleworks, but I don't do SS work much.
======
Discussion quotes: